Matcha + Lemonade Frozen Yogurt Recipe (Copycat Pinkberry)

Yup. I jumped on the matcha train, and I’m gonna ride the darn thing until it crashes and burns. I am obsessed, to say the least. This frozen yogurt is a pretty darn close replica of the Pinkberry recipe if I do say so myself. If you have no idea what Pinkberry is and think I’m talking about strawberries, I’ll describe the flavor that is this magical frozen dessert. This frozen yogurt is a not too sweet, tangy perfection kissed with a matcha flavor that pairs beautifully with the lemon. I think the matcha, lemon, and sugar balance extremely well in this recipe and is quickly becoming my favorite dessert flavor. It’s the perfect tart and sweet combo that I never knew could exist. Plus, you can make this recipe without an ice cream maker.

NEED this recipe RIGHT NOW?! Skip straight to it.

I originally was introduced to this godly flavor combo when Derek and I picked up a quart of it from Pinkberry a few weeks ago for only $5 (which is a steal). I savored that sucker for weeks. Then, when we were wandering through Target, we found an ice cream maker for $30 and snatched it up. So that’s how this post happened. I had a distant memory of the great Pinkberry delicacy and an ice cream maker to show who’s boss. I whipped this up just yesterday and it’s almost gone again. But hey, now I can make it for a few bucks and by the gallons.

matcha lemonade frozen yogurt copycat pinkberry 1

What Matcha to Use: Ceremonial Grade VS. Culinary Grade

For this recipe, I used premium culinary grade matcha because that is what we drink nearly every day. I didn’t feel like trying to find a cheaper culinary grade and I really wasn’t going to wait for some to arrive from Amazon (I got yogurt to make!). Premium culinary grade matcha is the highest grade matcha in the culinary category and just below the highest grade – ceremonial. Premium grade has a more delicate and well-rounded flavor, it is also a more vivid shade of green. Culinary grades are, well, for cooking with. The lower the culinary grade, the darker the green and the more ugh-ness it will have. Lower grades are more bitter and less delicate than ceremonial or premium. To read more about the different grades of matcha, go here. I would recommend purchasing premium culinary grade if you decide to make this recipe as it is the cheapest for the best quality. If you can’t find matcha near you I would suggest turning to Amazon, they have a lot of options for cheap. We get the brand Ujido because it is sold at our local King Soopers and is a cheaper premium culinary grade option. If you already own some matcha, I suggest using what you already have unless it is very expensive and you would rather use something cheaper.

How to Adjust the Recipe Using a Lower Culinary Grade Matcha

If you are using a lower culinary grade matcha, I would suggest using a 1/2 tablespoon less of matcha powder (making it 2 1/2 tablespoons of matcha powder), and you may need to add a few tablespoons extra of sugar. Taste your mixture, it shouldn’t taste too strong of lemon or matcha (should be balanced) and should be a bit on the sweet side (things taste less sweet when very cold). Add as you see fit, and adjust in small increments (i.e. adding only a tablespoon of sugar at a time and tasting after each addition).

summer dessert recipe

How to Buy Matcha/What to Look for in Matcha

If you are looking at matcha, make sure it doesn’t say “green tea” only. Green tea and matcha are not the same things, they come from the same plant but matcha is ground and green tea is dried leaves. Matcha is also 100% leaves, tends to have a vastly different flavor, and can be of higher quality in general. Often, brands like to list green tea leaves as being matcha and will sell this “matcha” in tea bags. This is not pure matcha and won’t be very easy to add to your yogurt. You should find something that is pure matcha and doesn’t advertise itself as green tea or in tea bags.

matcha lemonade frozen yogurt copycat pinkberry 5

How to Make this Recipe without an Ice Cream Maker

If you don’t own an ice cream maker, you can still make this recipe. Just buy ice cube trays and fill them with the mixture. Once the mixture is frozen (about 4-6 hours) run the ice cubes through a food processor until smooth (you can try a blender, but I’m not sure how well that will work since there isn’t a ton of liquid moving things around). You may need to scrape down the sides of your food processor to help things along. If it really isn’t working, leave the ice cubes to sit at room temperature for a few minutes to thaw slightly, then try again. Once you have a smooth mixture, transfer to a container and freeze until it reaches your desired consistency. Since this recipe has more water than cream compared to ice cream, this method should give you a creamy texture (doing this with an ice cream mixture may make it more grainy than traditional ice cream).

Recipe

Matcha & Lemonade Frozen Yogurt

  • Servings: about 1.5 quarts
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A perfectly balanced, not-too-sweet dessert perfect for a hot summer day.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups plain whole milk yogurt (I used Mountain High)
  • 2 cups plain Greek yogurt (I used Greek Gods)
  • 3 tablespoons premium culinary grade matcha powder (see note about culinary grade)
  • 3 1/2 lemons, rinsed and juiced (mine were medium-large)
  • 3/4 cups white granulated sugar

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients into a blender. Place all ingredients into a blender and stir gently to incorporate matcha powder (will just coat the blender lid if not mixed in). You can also use a food processor or a whisk (whisk really well to get all the lumps out).
  2. Churn. Add mixture to your ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions to begin freezing. (don’t have an ice cream maker, use this trick).
  3. Enjoy. Once your mixture has finished churning, enjoy immediately for a soft-serve texture, or freeze in a container before enjoying/to store.

frozen yogurt melting gif.gif

Please comment a picture if you made the recipe, or tag me on Instagram, I love seeing your creations! You can subscribe to the blog for future recipes in the upper right sidebar. ↗️(Or below if on mobile⬇️).

For more frozen summer desserts, check out my Four Not So Boring Popsicle Recipes.

Check out all my recipes here.

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you have a wonderful week!

Sing-off image 3

7 thoughts on “Matcha + Lemonade Frozen Yogurt Recipe (Copycat Pinkberry)

  1. THIS. RECIPE. IS. LEGENDARY. THANK YOU FOR REPLICATING THE GREEN TEA/LEMONADE FROZEN YOGURT THAT THEY CYCLED OUT OF PINK BERRY. YOU ARE MY SAVIOR. MY QUEEN. THE LIGHT OF A NEW WORLD. I’M GOING TO GO CRY NOW BECAUSE I’M SO HAPPY THAT I CAN FINALLY MAKE MY OWN FAVORITE FLAVOR OF FRO-YO!!! AAAHHHHHHH!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.